Members Of St. Michael's Cub Scout Pack Ends Their Year With Success

. July 29, 2016.

Members of St. Michael’s Cub Scout Pack #319 ended their year with some of the highest achievements possible for Cub Scouts.

The 20 scouts – together as a pack for several years – have all indicated they want to become Eagle Scouts, the highest rank possible in Boy Scouting.

“This is a great group of fifth grade boys, who for the most part have been together since they were Tiger Scouts in the first grade,” said Cub Master Steve Bihn, who will follow the pack to Boy Scouts next year. “It is rare to have such a large den and to have such a high percentage of retention throughout the five years.”

All 20 members of the Webelos II Den earned the Arrow of Light award, which prepares a Webelo to move up to being a Boy Scout.  Recognizing wisdom, courage, self-control, justice, faith, hope and love, it is the highest award in Cub Scouting. They received their awards at their graduation ceremony, then symbolically moved on to Boy Scouts, and will reconvene this coming school year.

Ten members earned the Super Achiever Award, given to Webelos who earn all 20 activity pins before their Arrow of Light Award ceremony.

“It is a very rare occurrence that a Webelos scout achieves this level,” said Bihn. “Over the past six years that I have been a part of Pack leadership, I can only remember one or two.”

Fifth graders in the den are Vincent Adkins, Spencer Bihn, Joshua Baker, Dominic Gonzalez, Vince Himebaugh, Paul Klein, Justin (JJ) Laux, Preston Perkins, Matthew Ricker, Ross Trenkamp, Justy VonLehmden, Kadin Warner, Zachary Zitkovic, Logan Steele, Xavier Ball, Caleb Schroeder, Bryce Serin, Matthew Reuille, Devin Montalbine and Alexander Sayre. Adult leaders of the pack also include den leader Bob Ricker and assistant den leaders Phil Adkins and Brian Perkins.